Kopi Luwak Coffee vs. Animal Welfare

What Price are you willing to pay for your coffee at the expense of a life?

Sounds a little disturbing… it should.

As an avid coffee drinker myself, I have come across various types of coffees produced around the world, most are produced to benefit a community, village, town or even the entire region they are grown and produced from, this may be a main source of that particular countries income.

It wasn’t until just recently that while watching a travel show on television that I learned of the Famous  – Kopi Luwak Coffee, being the coffee connoisseur that I am I watched with great Enthusiasm of a type of coffee I had never heard about.   The whole concept of this rare sought after hefty priced coffee is singled down to the way it is produced.  A animal called the Asian Palm Civet eats the coffee beans, digest them and then by process of elimination you have fermented coffee beans, making an unusual tasting bean by means of the gastric enzymes.   I was intrigued by this so I researched this coffee more, and I was not too surprised at what I found out.   For any product that humans consume on mass quantities, which is just about everything, that method, whether it be plant or animal – suffers for our wants and needs— until something is done about it.

The Civets have done this in the wild for who knows how long really-but now they are being farmed for just this main purpose.   The article I found about this coffee was disturbing and I wanted to share it with you.   I will also be pursuing this further myself as well as bringing it to the attention of my group at The Florida League of Humane Voters, we are the voices for those who can’t speak.

I am providing the link to the article – I am asking that after doing your due-diligence on this topic, to please also take action to ensure that a more regulated, controlled methods are put into place in producing this “rare” coffee.   You may join The Florida League of Humane Voters – make sure you mention that Raffle Rescue referred you, also contact your local news stations, newspapers to begin getting the word out, many of those entities will direct you to the proper authorities in your area/state that you can contact for support with your concerns.

Here is the article about Kopi Luwak Coffee:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kopi_Luwak

Leave a Reply

